MD Magazine: Specialty: Infectious Disease Copyright (c) 2017 Intellisphere, LLC. All rights reserved. http://www.mdmag.com/specialty/infectious-disease/rss Infectious Disease en-us Sat, 23 Feb 2019 03:59:43 UTC Oseltamivir Cuts Mortality Rates Among Certain Flu Patients in ICU http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/oseltamivir-cuts-mortality-rates-among-flu-patients-icu Fri, 22 Feb 2019 12:00:00 UTC Liver Cancer Risk Not Increased with Pre-Transplant Antiviral http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/liver-cancer-risk-not-increased-pretransplant-antiviral Thu, 21 Feb 2019 12:00:00 UTC Less B Cell Adaptation Reduces Flu Vaccine Efficacy in Older Adults http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/less-b-cell-adaptation-reduces-flu-vaccine-efficacy-older-adults Thu, 21 Feb 2019 10:00:00 UTC Direct-Acting Antivirals for HCV Reduce Mortality, Liver Cancer http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/direct-acting-antivirals-hcv-reduce-mortality-liver-cancer Wed, 20 Feb 2019 14:00:00 UTC Certain Vaccine-Effectiveness Studies Lack Context, Precision http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/certain-vaccine-effectiveness-studies-lack-context-precision Wed, 20 Feb 2019 12:00:00 UTC Pregnant Women More Likely to Be Hospitalized with Influenza http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/pregnant-women-more-likely-to-be-hospitalized-influenza Fri, 15 Feb 2019 14:00:00 UTC Novel Method Clears Hepatitis C from Donor Lungs http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/novel-method-clears-hepatitis-c-from-donor-lungs Fri, 15 Feb 2019 12:00:00 UTC HCV Treatment Efficacious for Associated Cryoglobulinemia Vasculitis http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/hcv-treatment-efficacious-associated-cryoglobulinemia-vasculitis Thu, 14 Feb 2019 14:00:00 UTC Hepatitis B Virus Elevates Risk for Age-Related Macular Degeneration http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/hepatitis-b-virus-elevates-risk-for-agerelated-macular-degeneration Thu, 14 Feb 2019 10:00:00 UTC FDA Approves Triclabendazole for Treatment of Fascioliasis http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/fda-approves-triclabendazole-for-treatment-of-fascioliasis Wed, 13 Feb 2019 22:22:00 UTC Influenza Vaccines Prevented 8,000 Deaths Last Flu Season http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/influenza-vaccines-prevented-8000-deaths-last-flu-season Wed, 13 Feb 2019 14:00:00 UTC Sofosbuvir Well-Tolerated in Asian Americans with Hepatitis C http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/sofosbuvir-well-tolerated-asian-americans-hepatitis-c Wed, 13 Feb 2019 12:00:00 UTC FDA Grants Orphan Drug Designation for Cryptococcosis Treatment http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/fda-orphan-drug-designation-cryptococcosis-treatment Mon, 11 Feb 2019 15:01:00 UTC Analysis Favors Universal HCV Screening over Current Guidelines http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/analysis-favors-universal-hcv-screening-over-current-guidelines Mon, 11 Feb 2019 12:00:00 UTC Flu-Like Illness Linked to Increased Stroke Risk http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/flulike-illness-linked-to-increased-stroke-risk Fri, 08 Feb 2019 10:00:00 UTC Development of Antibiotics Increases but Remains Insufficient http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/development-of-antibiotics-increases-but-remains-insufficient Thu, 07 Feb 2019 16:50:00 UTC High-Risk HPV Infection Raises Risk of Cardiovascular Disease http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/high-risk-hpv-infection-raises-risk-cardiovascular-disease Thu, 07 Feb 2019 10:00:00 UTC Influenza Vaccine Tied to Lower Hospitalization Rates in COPD Patients http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/influenza-vaccine-lower-hospitalization-rates-copd-patients Wed, 06 Feb 2019 16:00:00 UTC FDA Accepts Merck Applications for 2 Gram-Negative Bacteria Drugs http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/fda-accepts-merck-applications-for-2-gramnegative-bacteria-drugs Tue, 05 Feb 2019 16:08:00 UTC OxyContin Abuse Deterrent Formulation Linked to HCV Surge http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/oxycontin-abuse-deterrent-formulation-linked-hcv-surge Tue, 05 Feb 2019 15:30:00 UTC HIV Infection Raises Risk of Death for Patients with Hepatocellular Carcinoma http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/hiv-infection-raises-risk-death-patients-hepatocellular-carcinoma Tue, 05 Feb 2019 10:00:00 UTC Viral Proteins Can Be Inhibited by Anti-Flu Antibodies http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/viral-proteins-inhibited-by-antiflu-antibodies Thu, 31 Jan 2019 14:03:00 UTC Influenza-Like Illnesses Cause Excess Deaths Among People with Kidney Failure http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/influenza-like-illnesses-cause-excess-deaths-kidney-failure Thu, 31 Jan 2019 10:00:00 UTC Perception of Risk Increases PrEP Uptake When Access Is Not a Factor http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/perception-risk-increases-prep-uptake-when-access-not-factor Wed, 30 Jan 2019 12:00:00 UTC Parents Use Sound, Unsound Tactics to Prevent Illness http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/parents-use-sound-unsound-tactics-prevent-illness Wed, 30 Jan 2019 10:00:00 UTC USPSTF Reaffirms Prophylactic for Gonococcal Eye Infections in Newborns http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/uspstf-prophylactic-gonococcal-eye-infections-newborns Tue, 29 Jan 2019 17:18:00 UTC UK Gonorrhea Guideline Guards Against Antibiotic Resistance http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/uk-gonorrhea-guideline-guards-antibiotic-resistance Mon, 28 Jan 2019 15:00:00 UTC New Flu 'Nowcasting' Model Outperforms Previous Methods http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/new-flu-nowcasting-model-outperforms-previous-methods Mon, 28 Jan 2019 14:00:00 UTC Hepatologist Urges Appropriate Hepatitis C Post-Cure Care http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/hepatologist-urges-appropriate-hepatitis-c-postcure-care Sat, 26 Jan 2019 12:00:00 UTC Study Confirms Flu Vaccine Safe for Hospitalized Patients http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/study-confirms-flu-vaccine-safe-hospitalized-patients Fri, 25 Jan 2019 14:00:00 UTC