MD Magazine: Specialty: Infectious Disease Copyright (c) 2017 Intellisphere, LLC. All rights reserved. http://www.mdmag.com/specialty/infectious-disease/rss Infectious Disease en-us Wed, 18 Jul 2018 18:23:13 UTC Consistent Condom Use Significantly Reduces Risk of New HIV Infection http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/consistent-condom-use-significantly-reduces-risk-of-new-hiv-infection Wed, 18 Jul 2018 15:00:00 UTC FDA Approves First Complete, Darunavir-Based Single Tablet for HIV http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/fda-approves-first-complete-darunavirbased-single-tablet-for-hiv- Wed, 18 Jul 2018 14:08:00 UTC Probiotic-Based Sanitation Reduces Hospital Infections Better Than Chlorine http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/probioticbased-sanitation-reduces-hospital-infections-better-than-chlorine Wed, 18 Jul 2018 09:00:00 UTC Misconceptions Exist About Clinical Evidence for Breakthrough Therapies, Examination Suggests http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/misconceptions-exist-about-clinical-evidence-for-breakthrough-therapies-examination-suggests Tue, 17 Jul 2018 15:00:00 UTC Antiviral Flu Drug Baloxavir Marboxil Succeeds in Phase 3 Study http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/antiviral-flu-drug-baloxavir-marboxil-succeeds-in-phase-3-study Tue, 17 Jul 2018 13:52:00 UTC Vancomycin Most Cost-Effective Treatment for Recurrent C. difficile http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/vancomycin-most-costeffective-treatment-for-recurrent-c-difficile Tue, 17 Jul 2018 13:00:00 UTC Fecal Transplantation a Feasible Antibiotic Alternative for C. Difficile Treatment http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/fecal-transplantation-a-feasible-antibiotic-alternative-for-c-difficile-treatment Mon, 16 Jul 2018 11:00:00 UTC Younger Adults with HIV Experience Shorter Times to Viral Rebound http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/younger-adults-with-hiv-experience-shorter-times-to-viral-rebound Mon, 16 Jul 2018 09:00:00 UTC FDA Approves the First Drug for Smallpox http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/fda-approves-the-first-drug-for-smallpox Fri, 13 Jul 2018 19:57:00 UTC Missed Opportunities to Test, Diagnose HIV Found Across US http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/missed-opportunities-to-test-diagnose-hiv-found-across-us Fri, 13 Jul 2018 13:20:00 UTC Tonsil Removal Surgery Could Have Negative Impact on Patient Immune System http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/tonsil-removal-surgery-could-have-negative-impact-on-patient-immune-system Thu, 12 Jul 2018 09:00:00 UTC Greater HCV Treatment Needed in Care for People Who Inject Drugs http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/greater-hcv-treatment-needed-in-care-for-people-who-inject-drugs Wed, 11 Jul 2018 11:00:00 UTC FDA Announces Labeling Changes for Fluoroquinolones Due to Mental Health AEs, Blood Sugar Disturbances http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/fda-announces-labeling-changes-for-fluoroquinolones-due-to-mental-health-aes-blood-sugar-disturbances Tue, 10 Jul 2018 20:07:00 UTC Online 'Soap Opera' Helps Curb STI Rates in Young Men Who Have Sex with Men http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/online-soap-opera-helps-curb-sti-rates-in-young-men-who-have-sex-with-men Tue, 10 Jul 2018 15:00:00 UTC Antiretrovirals Differ in Cardiovascular Disease Risk http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/antiretrovirals-differ-in-cardiovascular-disease-risk Tue, 10 Jul 2018 09:00:00 UTC HPV Testing Improves on Cervical Neoplasia Detection Versus Cytology Testing http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/hpv-testing-reduces-cervical-intraepithelial-neoplasis-rates-versus-cytology-testing Mon, 09 Jul 2018 20:55:00 UTC Long-Acting Injectable PrEP Shows Promise in Reducing HIV Transmission http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/longacting-injectable-prep-shows-promise-in-reducing-hiv-transmission Mon, 09 Jul 2018 15:00:00 UTC Penicillin Allergy Testing Could Reduce C. diff, MRSA Risks http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/penicillin-allergy-testing-could-reduce-c-diff-mrsa-risks Fri, 06 Jul 2018 15:00:00 UTC HCV Status Not Linked to Diabetes in Patients with HIV http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/hcv-status-not-linked-to-diabetes-in-patients-with-hiv Fri, 06 Jul 2018 13:00:00 UTC HIV Testing Underutilized and Infrequently Offered http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/hiv-testing-underutilized-and-infrequently-offered Fri, 06 Jul 2018 11:00:00 UTC Metformin Could Accelerate Idiothatic Pulmonary Fibrosis Care http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/metformin-could-accelerate-idiothatic-pulmonary-fibrosis-reversal Thu, 05 Jul 2018 15:55:00 UTC Making the Transition From Military to Medicine http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/making-the-transition-from-military-to-medicine Tue, 03 Jul 2018 11:00:00 UTC HIV Patients on Opioid Therapy Often Aren't Monitored for Addiction http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/hiv-patients-on-opioid-therapy-often-arent-monitored-for-addiction Mon, 02 Jul 2018 11:00:00 UTC Syringe Services Program Implemented During HIV Outbreak Led to Reduction of Injection-Related Risk Behaviors http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/syringe-services-program-implemented-during-hiv-outbreak-led-to-reduction-of-injection-related-risk-behaviors Fri, 29 Jun 2018 09:00:00 UTC Efficacy of Plazomicin Reinforced by Additional Research http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/efficacy-of-plazomicin-reinforced-by-additional-research Thu, 28 Jun 2018 15:00:00 UTC HIV App Boosts Patient Adherence, Viral Suppression http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/hiv-app-boosts-patient-adherence-viral-suppression Wed, 27 Jun 2018 13:00:00 UTC The HIV Epidemic Among Black Americans Requires Action http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/the-hiv-epidemic-among-black-americans-requires-action Wed, 27 Jun 2018 09:00:00 UTC Plazomicin Receives FDA Approval for Complicated UTIs http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/plazomicin-receives-fda-approval-for-complicated-utis Tue, 26 Jun 2018 13:39:00 UTC PrEP Eligibility Criteria Doesn't Capture All At HIV Risk http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/prep-eligibility-criteria-doesnt-capture-all-at-hiv-risk Mon, 25 Jun 2018 09:00:00 UTC HIV Patients Can Lower Cancer Risk with Viral Suppression http://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/hiv-patients-can-lower-cancer-risk-with-viral-suppression Fri, 22 Jun 2018 09:00:00 UTC