HCPLive<sup>®</sup>: Condition Center: Geriatrics Specialty Copyright (c) 2017 Intellisphere, LLC. All rights reserved. http://www.mdmag.com/conditions/geriatrics/rss Geriatrics Specialty en-us Sat, 06 Jun 2020 02:29:00 +0000 FDA Approves Tau Imaging Agent for Alzheimer Disease https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/fda-tau-imaging-agent-alzheimer-disease https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/fda-tau-imaging-agent-alzheimer-disease Fri, 29 May 2020 17:49:00 +0000 Difficulty Initiating Sleep Intervention Could Reduce Depressive Symptoms https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/difficulty-initiating-sleep-intervention-depressive-symptoms https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/difficulty-initiating-sleep-intervention-depressive-symptoms Thu, 28 May 2020 17:32:00 +0000 Investigators Tout New Alzheimer Disease Blood Immunoassay Test https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/alzheimer-disease-blood-immunoassay-test https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/alzheimer-disease-blood-immunoassay-test Thu, 28 May 2020 16:00:00 +0000 James Wheless, MD: Neurology, Epilepsy, and COVID-19 https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/james-wheless-md-neurology-epilepsy-and-covid19 https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/james-wheless-md-neurology-epilepsy-and-covid19 Thu, 28 May 2020 14:00:00 +0000 CPAP Withdrawal Leads to Negative Outcomes for Sleep Apnea Patients https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/ats-2020/cpap-negative-sleep-apnea-patients https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/ats-2020/cpap-negative-sleep-apnea-patients Thu, 21 May 2020 14:40:00 +0000 Empagliflozin Reduces Cardiovascular Outcomes Despite Obstructive Sleep Apnea https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/ats-2020/empagliflozin--cardiovascular-outcomes-obstructive-sleep-apnea https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/ats-2020/empagliflozin--cardiovascular-outcomes-obstructive-sleep-apnea Tue, 19 May 2020 16:03:00 +0000 More Sleep Apnea Patients Reverse Metabolic Syndrome with CPAP https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/ats-2020/sleep-apnea-patients-reverse-metabolic-syndrome-cpap https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/ats-2020/sleep-apnea-patients-reverse-metabolic-syndrome-cpap Tue, 19 May 2020 15:36:00 +0000 New AI Model Could Aid in Diagnosis of Age-Related Macular Degeneration https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/arvo-2020/ai-model-aid-in-diagnosis-age-related-macular-degeneration https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/arvo-2020/ai-model-aid-in-diagnosis-age-related-macular-degeneration Wed, 13 May 2020 11:00:00 +0000 Sleep Duration Linked to More Asthma Attacks https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/sleep-duration-asthma-attacks https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/sleep-duration-asthma-attacks Wed, 13 May 2020 09:00:00 +0000 Vitamin D and Homotaurine Show Potential Benefit for Macular Degeneration https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/arvo-2020/vitamin-d-and-homotaurine-potential-benefit-for-macular-degeneration https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/arvo-2020/vitamin-d-and-homotaurine-potential-benefit-for-macular-degeneration Sun, 10 May 2020 09:00:00 +0000 Brolucizumab Linked to Decreases in nAMD Disease Activity Versus Aflibercept https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/arvo-2020/brolucizumab-decreases-namd-disease-activity-versus-aflibercept https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/arvo-2020/brolucizumab-decreases-namd-disease-activity-versus-aflibercept Sat, 09 May 2020 11:38:00 +0000 High-Intensity Statins May Not Prevent Dry to Wet AMD Progression https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/arvo-2020/statins-do-not-prevent-dry-to-wet-amd-progression https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/arvo-2020/statins-do-not-prevent-dry-to-wet-amd-progression Fri, 08 May 2020 13:00:00 +0000 Positron Emission Tomography Tau Tracers Help to Diagnose Alzheimer Disease https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/positron-emission-tomography-tau-tracers-help-to-diagnose-alzheimer-disease https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/positron-emission-tomography-tau-tracers-help-to-diagnose-alzheimer-disease Thu, 07 May 2020 14:14:00 +0000 Franco Recchia, MD: PDS with Ranibizumab, LADDER End of Study Results https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/arvo-2020/pds-with-ranibizumab-ladder-end-of-study-results https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/arvo-2020/pds-with-ranibizumab-ladder-end-of-study-results Thu, 07 May 2020 13:00:00 +0000 STAIRWAY Analysis Details Clinical Effects of Faricimab Use for nAMD https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/arvo-2020/stairway-analysis-effects-faricimab-use-for-namd https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/arvo-2020/stairway-analysis-effects-faricimab-use-for-namd Wed, 06 May 2020 11:00:00 +0000 Narcolepsy Associated With Increased Risk of Bone Fractures https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/narcolepsy-increased-risk-bone-fractures https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/narcolepsy-increased-risk-bone-fractures Tue, 05 May 2020 17:00:00 +0000 Worsening Sleep Increases Depression Persistence in Older Patients https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/worsening-sleep-increases-depression-older-patients https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/worsening-sleep-increases-depression-older-patients Sun, 03 May 2020 09:00:00 +0000 Sleep Problems Common for Adopted Children https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/sleep-problems-adopted-children https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/sleep-problems-adopted-children Fri, 01 May 2020 14:00:00 +0000 Atypical Antipsychotic Use Decreasing for Older Patients After FDA Warning https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/apa-2020/atypical-antipsychotic-use-decreasing-for-older-patients-after-fda-warning https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/apa-2020/atypical-antipsychotic-use-decreasing-for-older-patients-after-fda-warning Wed, 29 Apr 2020 17:00:00 +0000 Sleep Apnea Could Contribute to Development of Diabetes in African-Americans https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/sleep-apnea-development-of-diabetes-in-african-americans https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/sleep-apnea-development-of-diabetes-in-african-americans Tue, 28 Apr 2020 16:00:00 +0000 Very Low-Dose Bevacizumab Could Prevent Blindness in Premature Infants https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/bevacizumab-avastin-could-prevent-blindness-in-premature-infants https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/bevacizumab-avastin-could-prevent-blindness-in-premature-infants Thu, 23 Apr 2020 15:00:00 +0000 Personalized Approach Best for Infants with Sleep Problems https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/personalized-approach-infants-sleep-problems https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/personalized-approach-infants-sleep-problems Thu, 23 Apr 2020 13:00:00 +0000 Tailored Smartphone Application Helps Treat Insomnia https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/tailored-smartphone-application-treat-insomnia https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/tailored-smartphone-application-treat-insomnia Mon, 20 Apr 2020 16:33:00 +0000 COVID-19 Ventilator Innovation from Mount Sinai https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/covid19-ventilator-innovation-from-mount-sinai https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/covid19-ventilator-innovation-from-mount-sinai Fri, 17 Apr 2020 11:29:00 +0000 Visual Impairment Linked to Increased Dementia Risk in Aging Women https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/visual-impairment-increased-dementia-risk-women https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/visual-impairment-increased-dementia-risk-women Thu, 16 Apr 2020 16:00:00 +0000 Healthcare Workers Face Increased Insomnia Risk Due to COVID-19 https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/healthcare-increased-insomnia-risk-covid-19 https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/healthcare-increased-insomnia-risk-covid-19 Tue, 14 Apr 2020 04:00:00 +0000 Untreated Sleep Apnea Doubles COPD Hospital Readmission Risk https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/untreated-sleep-apnea-doubles-copd-hospital-readmission-risk https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/untreated-sleep-apnea-doubles-copd-hospital-readmission-risk Wed, 08 Apr 2020 11:00:00 +0000 CBT App Improves Sleep Quality in Insomnia Patients https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/app-improves-sleep-quality-insomnia https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/app-improves-sleep-quality-insomnia Sun, 05 Apr 2020 14:00:00 +0000 Asymptomatic Sleep Disordered Breathing Could Forecast Alzheimer Disease https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/asymptomatic-sleep-disordered-breathing-alzheimer-disease https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/asymptomatic-sleep-disordered-breathing-alzheimer-disease Fri, 03 Apr 2020 16:00:00 +0000 Concern Over Sleep Apnea and Coronavirus Transmission https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/sleep-apnea-treatment-coronavirus-droplets https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/sleep-apnea-treatment-coronavirus-droplets Tue, 24 Mar 2020 18:00:00 +0000