HCPLive<sup>®</sup>: Condition Center: Addiction Medicine Copyright (c) 2017 Intellisphere, LLC. All rights reserved. http://www.mdmag.com/conditions/addiction-medicine/rss Addiction Medicine en-us Tue, 18 Feb 2020 00:12:52 +0000 Tramadol Use Shown to Increase Hip Fracture Risk in Older Adults https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/tramadol-use-increase-hip-fracture-risk https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/tramadol-use-increase-hip-fracture-risk Thu, 06 Feb 2020 10:00:00 +0000 Adam B. Hill, MD: Improving Public Mental Health Care https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/adam-b-hill-md-improving-public-mental-health-care https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/adam-b-hill-md-improving-public-mental-health-care Fri, 17 Jan 2020 14:00:00 +0000 Adam B. Hill, MD: Recovery & Writing on Mental Health Struggles https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/adam-b-hill-md-recovery-writing-mental-health-struggles https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/adam-b-hill-md-recovery-writing-mental-health-struggles Tue, 14 Jan 2020 19:52:00 +0000 New Data Details Historic Rise and Fall of US Life Expectancy https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/new-data-details-historic-rise-and-fall-of-us-life-expectancy https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/new-data-details-historic-rise-and-fall-of-us-life-expectancy Tue, 03 Dec 2019 14:00:00 +0000 Regina Davis Moss, PhD: Mental Illness Is a Public Health Issue https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/mental-illness-public-health-issue https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/mental-illness-public-health-issue Mon, 28 Oct 2019 15:42:00 +0000 Ken Duckworth, MD: The Modern Psychiatric Care Team https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/ken-duckworth-psychiatric-care-team https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/ken-duckworth-psychiatric-care-team Sat, 19 Oct 2019 16:44:00 +0000 Ken Duckworth, MD: Understanding Mental Health Access https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/ken-duckworth-md-mental-health-access https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/ken-duckworth-md-mental-health-access Fri, 18 Oct 2019 09:00:00 +0000 Identifying Risk Factors of Long-Term Opioid Use https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/identifying-risk-factors-of-longterm-opioid-use https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/identifying-risk-factors-of-longterm-opioid-use Thu, 18 Jul 2019 11:00:00 +0000 Efficacy of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy for Internet, Video Game Addiction https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/efficacy-of-cognitive-behavioral-therapy-for-internet-video-game-addiction https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/efficacy-of-cognitive-behavioral-therapy-for-internet-video-game-addiction Sat, 13 Jul 2019 13:00:00 +0000 Access to Opioids Among Chronic Pain Sufferers https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/access-to-opioids-among-chronic-pain-sufferers https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/access-to-opioids-among-chronic-pain-sufferers Fri, 12 Jul 2019 18:00:00 +0000 Many Turning to Recreational Cannabis for Pain Relief, Sleep Aid https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/recreational-cannabis-for-pain-relief-sleep-aid https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/recreational-cannabis-for-pain-relief-sleep-aid Tue, 02 Jul 2019 15:00:00 +0000 Ketamine Infusion Improves Abstinence in Cocaine-Dependent Patients https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/ketamine-infusion-abstinence-cocaine-dependent-patients https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/ketamine-infusion-abstinence-cocaine-dependent-patients Wed, 26 Jun 2019 13:00:00 +0000 Medical Marijuana Laws Likely Don't Affect Opioid Overdose Deaths https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/medical-marijuana-laws-likely-dont-affect-opioid-overdose-deaths https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/medical-marijuana-laws-likely-dont-affect-opioid-overdose-deaths Mon, 10 Jun 2019 19:03:00 +0000 Veteran Opioid Overdose Deaths Are on the Rise https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/veteran-opioid-overdose-deaths-are-on-the-rise https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/veteran-opioid-overdose-deaths-are-on-the-rise Mon, 27 May 2019 09:00:00 +0000 Treating Co-Occurring Mental Illness and Substance Use Disorder https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/treating-cooccuring-mental-illness-and-substance-use-disorder https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/treating-cooccuring-mental-illness-and-substance-use-disorder Thu, 23 May 2019 13:00:00 +0000 Marijuana Legalization Decreases Chronic Pain, Increases Car Accidents https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/marijuana-legalization-decreases-chronic-pain-increases-car-accidents https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/marijuana-legalization-decreases-chronic-pain-increases-car-accidents Wed, 15 May 2019 15:00:00 +0000 Perception of Tramadol as "Safer" May be Inaccurate https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/perception-of-tramadol-as-safer-may-be-inaccurate- https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/perception-of-tramadol-as-safer-may-be-inaccurate- Tue, 14 May 2019 17:03:00 +0000 Cash Incentives, Peer Support May Not Incentivize HCV Treatment https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/cash-incentives-peer-support-may-not-incentivize-hcv-treatment https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/cash-incentives-peer-support-may-not-incentivize-hcv-treatment Thu, 09 May 2019 09:00:00 +0000 Racial Differences in Opioid Addiction Treatment https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/racial-differences-in-opioid-addiction-treatment- https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/racial-differences-in-opioid-addiction-treatment- Wed, 08 May 2019 15:04:00 +0000 Ketorolac Tromethamine Injection Lot Recalled Due to Sterility Concerns https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/fda-recalls-ketorolac-tromethamine-injection-lot-due-to-sterility-concerns https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/fda-recalls-ketorolac-tromethamine-injection-lot-due-to-sterility-concerns Wed, 01 May 2019 21:25:00 +0000 FDA Approves First Generic Naloxone Nasal Spray https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/fda-approves-first-generic-naloxone-nasal-spray https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/fda-approves-first-generic-naloxone-nasal-spray Fri, 19 Apr 2019 16:12:00 +0000 For Pregnant Smokers, Early Quitting Linked to Lower Preterm Birth Risk https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/pregnant-smokers-early-quitting-lower-preterm-birth-risk https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/pregnant-smokers-early-quitting-lower-preterm-birth-risk Fri, 19 Apr 2019 15:00:00 +0000 Multi-Step Prescribing System Cuts Down Opioids, Increases Naloxone https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/multistep-prescribing-system-cuts-down-opioids-increases-naloxone https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/multistep-prescribing-system-cuts-down-opioids-increases-naloxone Wed, 17 Apr 2019 17:54:00 +0000 Addressing Opioid Risks with a New Approach https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/addressing-opioid-risks-with-a-new-approach https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/addressing-opioid-risks-with-a-new-approach Thu, 11 Apr 2019 11:41:00 +0000 Long-term Success for Extended-Release Buprenorphine Injection https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/longterm-success-extended-release-buprenorphine-injection https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/longterm-success-extended-release-buprenorphine-injection Sun, 07 Apr 2019 11:00:00 +0000 Simon Murray, MD: My Problem Patients https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/simon-murray-md-my-problem-patients https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/simon-murray-md-my-problem-patients Wed, 27 Mar 2019 11:00:00 +0000 After C-Section, Non-Opioids Can Reduce Both Pain and Opioid Use https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/after-csection-nonopioids-can-reduce-both-pain-opioid-use https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/after-csection-nonopioids-can-reduce-both-pain-opioid-use Wed, 13 Mar 2019 13:00:00 +0000 Asthma More Common in Opioid Dependent Patients, Especially Women https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/aaaai-2019/asthma-common-opioid-dependent-patients-women https://www.mdmag.com/conference-coverage/aaaai-2019/asthma-common-opioid-dependent-patients-women Sat, 23 Feb 2019 21:00:00 +0000 Sufentanil Sublingual Tablet Can Reduce Patient Reliance on IV Opioids https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/sufentanil-sublingual-tablet-reduce-patient-iv-opioids https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/sufentanil-sublingual-tablet-reduce-patient-iv-opioids Tue, 29 Jan 2019 15:40:00 +0000 Opioid-Related Deaths Associated with Pharmaceutical Marketing of Opioid Products https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/opioidrelated-deaths-associated-pharmaceutical-marketing-opioid-products https://www.mdmag.com/medical-news/opioidrelated-deaths-associated-pharmaceutical-marketing-opioid-products Fri, 18 Jan 2019 16:04:00 +0000